Oct. 24, 2018, 1:43 p.m.

The Treaty of Maastricht, signed on February 7, 1992, is known as the last step of the transformation of the European Economic Community (EEC) into the European Union. The Treaty entered into force in November 1993 and the European Union was officially established. Therefore, the other name of the treaty is the European Union Treaty.

The "3 Pillars of the European Union" were formed with this Treaty, which was later repealed with the 2007 Lisbon Treaty.

In these three columns contain 3 main subjects.

European Communities (EC); includes economic, social and environmental subjects.

Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP); contains foreign and military affairs.

Police and Judicial Co-operation in Criminal Matters (PJCCM); covers working in collaboration against crimes.


Cover photo: