Oct. 25, 2018, 10:36 a.m.


Today, we will look at the institutional structure of the European Union which is the decision triangle.

There are 3 institutions responsible for making policy and taking decisions:

  • European Parliament:
  • Council of the European Union
  • European Commission.

European Parliament

The European Parliament has an authority on legislative, budgetary and political control. There are several commissions determined by the Parliament each period and organized on a sectoral basis to prepare the studies of General Assembly. The European Parliament elections are held every 5 years. The EU citizens have the right to vote and to become a candidate in the parliament. The European Parliament is the only international platform which comes to power by direct vote.

Council of the European Union

Council of Ministers is one of the most important institutions of the European Union. The EU Council of Ministers should not be confused with the Council of Europe.

Council of Ministers is the main decision-making body of the EU and plays a coordinating role in ensuring economic and political decisions between the member states.

European Commission

The European Commission has the most unique structure among the other EU institutions.

The European Commission works for the development of the European Union acquis and undertakes the task of the protector of Founding Treaties of the European Union.

It controls the implementation and the budget of the European Union common policies.

It represents the European Union at international levels and in the presence of the third countries. Besides, the commission is undertaking a mediator position for potential conflicts between the institutions of the EU.

Reading Suggestion:

Avrupa Birliği’ne Giriş Tarih, Kurumlar ve Politikalar